Tags

, , , , ,

Yarn bombing is defined by wikipedia as “a type of graffiti or street art that employs colorful displays of knitted or crocheted yarn or fibre rather than paint or chalk.”  It has become a very popular expression of fiber art all around the world.  Here are some examples for you:

Trees outside the Blanton Art Museum in Austin, TX (image source)

Yarn bombed car! (image source)

Yarn bombing, there's just not stopping it. (image source)

Major the Bull in Durham, NC. (image source)

I adore the little car!  As a knitter, I can imagine the hours of work that went these masterpieces.  The last one of the bull is local to me.  I think I’ll get in touch with the  fiber guild to find out how to participate!  Which one is your favorite?  Have you ever worked on a yarn bombing project?  I’d love to see your photos!

