In honor and celebration of our nation’s birthday earlier this week, I have chosen spectacular photographs of the fireworks for this edition of Sunday Scenes.

July 4th, 2011, 8×10 digital print by phillipsstudio
 

 

 

Shot from the cliffs of Union City, NJ, this fabulous display was captured during Manhattan’s fireworks display this year.  Wow!

4th of July, Fine Art Photograph by andersonmk

This one was taken in Dubuque, IA overlooking the Mississippi River.  The clarity is amazing!

Happy Birthday, America by willbphotography

This photo was taken in Washington, D.C. on July 4, 2009.  I love the Washington Monument being showered with gold sparkle.  Gorgeous!

How did you celebrate July 4th this year (assuming you are an American!)?  Did you see a fireworks display?  We were in Bald Head Island, NC, a little beach community just south of Wilmington, NC.  We sat on the beach and watched the fireworks being shot off over the Cape Fear River/Atlantic Ocean.  It was magical.

A quick aside – the magic abruptly ended when I realized on the way back to our cottage that my iphone had fallen out of my pocket at some point during the evening.  I could just picture it being washed out to sea.  My SIL had the good sense to call my number, and sure enough, someone had picked it up off the boardwalk beach access.  My pink-encased phone was returned to me that very night!  Shew!!

